Doodle A Day

In 2010 I started to do a sketch a day.  I bought a Flexi-Sketch sketchbook which has 300 pages and comes in a variety of sizes.  It has 110lb drawing paper which holds ink, marker, pencil and light watercolor well.  Perfect for all the doodling we artist do.  I bought one in every size… I’m addicted to art supplies… can’t help it!  You know what that’s like!

I have a pile of art supplies that I keep together in a travel bag (so I can grab and go if I wish to) so that when I’m inspired to or just in the mood to doodle, I can. 

I love the disipline of doing a sketch a day… keeps the hands and eyes and brain happy. I love to see where a sketch may lead me… to another sketch or piece of art or to crochet or book binding.  You never know what will happen when you let your mind wander on paper.

So here I am in 2012 and I’m still doing a doodle a day (almost every day) since 2010.  I’ll be sharing them with you on this blog from time to time.

For now, here a few sketches from 2010.

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Doodle A Day, My Artwork. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doodle A Day

  1. Hey Rachel,

    I love every one of your sketches. How much are you sketches reflective of you mood on a given day? Can you remember why happened on a given day by looking at that day’s sketch?

    Just curious.

    Love ya,

    Antoinette

  2. Hi Antoinete! Sometimes I can remember what the inspiration was for a sketch… sometimes not! If it’s a busy day I may not get the chance to sketch but I’ll have an idea so I’ll hold on to it for the next day. And sometimes I’ll do two sketches a day if I’m on a roll! And sometimes I don’t have time to color a sketch in the same day so I’ll color it in on a day when I have no ideas for a new sketch. But I pretty much touch pencil/pen to paprer every day.

    Thanks for asking!
    Rachel

Leave a Reply

