Lovebirds… Part 1…

My best bud, whom I’ve been frinds with since birth, is getting married and his sweetie, whome I adore and is now my new bff, asked me to make their guest book. Oh the excitement I felt! But we’re not talking about your run o’ the mill traditional book… but a piece o’ art!!!

Oh how times change… I got married 19 years ago and for our guest book we had your run o’ the mill traditional book (it was actually part of my wedding planner!)… it was the thing to do at the time. Well, today, people are making new traditions and coming up with creative ideas and thinking outside the ol’ box… or in this case, book.

So my bff’s sweetie asked me to create a piece of art that their guest could sign and then later they could frame and hang it on their wall to commemorate their wonderful day. She showed me some samples of pieces that she liked and gave me some parameters to work in and I got to creating!

Here’s the beginnings of the piece… more to come as I work on it!

Enjoy : )

I glued old state maps that I picked up from an antique shop (I collect old state maps) (and of course the states are the love birds home states) to a 300lb piece of watercolor paper

I then tinted gesso with Golden Acrylics Interference Gold and teal and green acrylic paint and lightly painted over the maps but I made sure you ccould still see the maps faintly through the paint…

Then I got a new piece of watercolor paper  and painted this big red heart with watercolor paint…

Then I cut out the heart to the shape I desired…

And then started creating some little birdies…

Hmmm… I wonder where they will end up landing?

You’ll have to check back in a few days for the rest of the artsy story!

 

 

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in My Artwork, Paper Creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lovebirds… Part 1…

  1. Joanna says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished project. It looks like it might be too pretty to write on, though.

  2. Lisa says:

    Rachel, I’m so so SO excited! It’s beautiful already. I can’t wait to see the finished piece!

  3. Reyne Beatmann says:

    I am so interested to see the final result…so far so good. what a nice BFF you are.

  4. Pingback: Remember The Lovebirds… | Rachel Fontenot

Leave a Reply

