Happy New Year!

Beginning a new year is one of my favorite times of the year. It’s a fresh start. A new chapter to be written on a blank piece of paper. And nothing excites me more than a blank sheet of paper (with something in hand to doodle with, of course)!!!

I begin each year by making two lists. The first is a list of all the good things that happened in the year that is closing. Whether to me, someone close to me or the big wide world… Just a simple list of goodness!

The second is a list of all the things I wish to accomplish or become in the new year. From being a better blogger, to traveling to someplace wonderful, to having 350 pattern designs created by the end of the year… A list of ideas and doings to propel me into a better future.

I’ve been making these lists for the past 10 years along side a writer/film friend of mine, John. We share lists with each other and offer encouragement and support throughout the year. It’s a wonderful thing to do, for it brings gratitude and focus  into every year of my life!

Give it a try for yourself. You wont regret it and you’ll be amazed when you make your list of goodness at all the wonderful things that happen in your life year after year!

So today I’ll leave you with a doodle from my “doodle a day” sketchbook. It’s called “Conversation With a Friend” and was drawn on Jan 2 after having an inspiring, creative filled chat over hot chocolate with my long time musician friend Faith Gilmore.  Enjoy!

Doodle A Day 2013

Doodle A Day 2013

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Creative Encouragement, Doodle A Day, My Artwork. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Now that is what I call mega doodling. My doodles never look that good.

  2. Rachel! I love the doodle drawing you made after we met for hot chocolate! It’s so alive, growing, full of spring and wheels that turn to inspire us. I really dig green

  3. Auntie Sandy says:

    Beautifully written! I am impressed and inspired! I love you!! Auntie

  4. elenor says:

    What a wonderful idea and post! I will definitely try this. I know being grateful makes one’s life much happier and better.
    KInd greetings from the EU.

  5. elenor martin says:

    What a wonderful idea and post! I will definitely try this. I know being grateful makes one’s life much happier and better.
    Kind greetings from the EU.

Leave a Reply

