All You Need Is…

Accordion Card

Accordion Card

Here’s a little something I made to spread a little love around!

I used card stock for the accordion card and scavenged my pattern paper scraps and brad stash to embellish the card. I didn’t have letter stamps large enough for my design so I carved some stamps the size I needed myself!

Here’s a pictorial tutorial on how to carve a stamp.

Hand Craved Stamps Supplies

Hand Craved Stamps Supplies

Supplies you will need to carve a stamp: pencil, paper (for your doodle design for the carving block), tracing paper (to trace your doodle to transfer to the carving block), bone folder, linoleum carving tool with various nibs, carving block (I like Mastercarve, it cuts like butter!) and ink pads for printing.

Tracing design onto tracing paper for transfer to carving block.

Tracing design onto tracing paper for transfer to carving block.

Trace your design onto the tracing paper for transfer…

Flip the traced design face down onto block to transfer the design.

Flip the traced design face down onto block to transfer the design.

To transfer the design, place the traced design onto the block face down (graphite side down) and rub with your bone folder…

Block is ready for carving!

Block is ready for carving!

Now your design is ready to be carved into the block.

Carving the design into the block.

Carving the design into the block.

Begin by carving away all the material that you do not want to stamp. Test print the block from time to time to make sure the design is turning out the way you wish and to see what is left for you to carve away.

Test stamping.

Test stamping.

Cards ready for stamping and assembly.

Cards ready for stamping and assembly.

Now you are ready to stamp your heart away and assemble your cards!

Finished accordion card

Finished accordion card

Front of card

Front of card

Send out some love!

Send out some love!

Fini! Envoyer un peu d’amour!!!

xoxo ~ Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Paper Creativity, Printmaking/Stamping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All You Need Is…

  1. Love the tutorial step-by-step instructions. I HAVE to try this.

  2. Dianne Gibson says:

    I LOVE my Valentine “Love”card designed by the one and only Rachel Fontenot!

Leave a Reply

