Pet Rocks… I know you have some!

Did you have pet rocks when you were a kid?

I most certainly did! I used to find rocks on my adventures playing outside (which I did all the time, something kids today need to do more of)! Some would get painted with faces or designs. Some I just admired for their sheer natural beauty.

Well I must confess, I still collect rocks. Anywhere. Anytime. If one catches my eye it quickly finds it’s way into my pocket until I get home to find a happy resting place for my new pet rock.

I have rocks on bookshelves, tables, holding papers down, sitting on window sills, in bowls and jars and even stowed away in boxes.

I collect them when we travel, go hiking or canoeing or on a walk around our neighborhood or park.

I must diverge to tell you a little silly side story…

A lifelong friend was helping us move once and was carrying one of my boxes of rocks to my studio. The box was labeled ROCKS on all sides in large letters. Here’s how the story goes:

Charlie, “Rachel! This box is heavy! What’s in this box?”

Rachel, “Rocks! It says it on the side of the box!”

Charlie, “Rocks… you mean like rocks from the earth.”

Rachel, “Yes. It’s my rock collection.”

Charlie rolls his eyes and returns to the moving truck only to find more boxes of rocks. THREE more boxes of rocks.

Charlie, “Rachel!!! You’re a weirdo! I can’t believe I’m @^#*%”! moving boxes of +*^!#@” ROCKS!!!”

And Charlie is still  to this very day one of our best friends even after moving 4 very heavy boxes of my precious pet rocks!

(I think you get the picture now that I really, REALLY have a thing for rocks!)

So now I wish to share with you my newest pet rocks. They are super special because they were given to me in honor of my 40th birthday (which was last month, wee hoo!) and were created by one of my best friends, Antoinette Verdone. I don’t really know what to call them other than “crochet rocks”. And she crocheted them herself (I told her she must teach me next time we’re together)!

I am mesmerized by them and they are my absolute favorites and I just can’t stop looking at them and holding them. They are beauty in so many ways! I hope they inspire you and make you smile and feel happy : )

Appréciez les roches!!!

Crochet Rocks by Antoinette Verdone

Crochet Rocks by Antoinette Verdone

Crochet Rocks by Antoinette Verdone

Crochet Rocks by Antoinette Verdone

Crochet Rocks by Antoinette Verdone

Crochet Rocks by Antoinette Verdone

Crochet Rocks by Antoinette Verdone

Crochet Rocks by Antoinette Verdone

And here’s a few of my pet rocks hanging around the house…

Rocks Around the House ~ Rachel Fontenot

Rocks Around the House ~ Rachel Fontenot

Now I commission you to go on an adventure and collect some pet rocks!

Your Rock Hound Forever,

Rachel xoxo

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Crochet/Knitting, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pet Rocks… I know you have some!

  1. Gisele says:

    Eek, Are thoses doilies around thoses rocks? 😉 Just found your blog Rachel, I love it. Gisele

  2. Gabriela says:

    Hello from Toronto,

    Visiting from the BYW class.

    Gabriela

Leave a Reply

