It’s Blogging, It’s Blogging… Fun For Ev er y one!

Can you name that commercial tune? You’ve got to access your 1970’s memory files for this one.  At least I remember it from the 70’s… or 80’s… all I know, is I was a kid and I wanted one! So post your answer in the comments below : )

Now on to blogging fun for ev er y one!

I am new to the world of blogging. Well, honestly, I’m new to the entire world of technology! Cause for the past 20 years of my life, I have been living in a box called ART. And that box consisted of lots of art supplies and art making, gallery showings, group showings, art festivals,  juried exhibits and teaching, and even my first 15 minutes of fame on HGTV’s show Crafters Coast To Coast (that video will surface on this blog in the near future). Over those 20 years I found no need for the world of technology. Well, times have changed and I see the need and benefits of technology today. And so, I embrace.

But first… a blast from the past! Me at an art fest (looking a little crazy!) selling my handmade journals. I love doing festivals because I love meeting the people who are taking my creations home with them! Something that sometimes gets lost on the inter-webs.

Rachel Fontenot at Three Rivers Art Fest in Covington LA

Rachel Fontenot at Three Rivers Art Fest in Covington LA

So here I am in the blogosphere trying to navigate my way through a whole new world. To help myself along this journey I am currently enrolled in a blogging class by Holly Becker of décor8 called Blogging Your Way: Blog Boss. It’s a fabulous class! I am learning so much about this blogging world and how it works and how to be my best at it. I highly recommend this class to anyone who wants to grow their blog and be the best blogger they can be! So check it out!

So now you may wonder… Why is Rachel telling us this? Because you are here with me in this blogging world and we are on this journey together! I tell you these things to ask you to hang tight with me as I learn and grow. I want to share more of my art and surface designs with you and am learning how to go about this in a professional manner. It’s scary and vulnerable to throw your work out into the inter-webs to be stuck forever for anything to happen. This is a world I am not used to, but I am willing to take the risk and make friends with it! So I ask you, my blog world friends, to bear with me as I change things up a bit, experiment, try new things and share my art and heart with you on this blog.

I see a shiny new blog appearing in the near future : )

I now leave you with a doodle : )

Rachel Fontenot from my Doodle a Day Sketchbook 2012

Rachel Fontenot from my Doodle a Day Sketchbook 2012

Cherrio! xoxo Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Book Arts, Creative Encouragement, Doodle A Day, My Artwork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Blogging, It’s Blogging… Fun For Ev er y one!

  1. Rachel – love the doodle – and it’s from my birthday! (Love the blast form the past!)

  2. jshewett says:

    A SLINKY!! I still find myself humming that tune from time to time. I enjoyed reading your post, learning more about your journey into this scary virtual world and I look forward to following your blog. I am also checking out the class that you recommended. Thank you for the tip, the glimpse into who you are, and for the BEAUTIFUL designs that fill your blog!

    • Hello jshewett! You guessed it! So happy you enjoyed the post on blogging. And even happier you are checking into the class! It’s been Wonderful! Holly Becker and her team of teachers are full of great tips and advice on how to run a successful blog. I highly recommend it to all bloggers. And I am now following your blog and look forward to your thoughts on life and creativity! Nice to meet you. Happy blogging!!!

Leave a Reply

