Paper Flowers

I am obsessed with making paper flowers. I lose track of time while making them. Because the activity is repetitive and doesn’t require much thought, you can let your mind wander and ponder things. Problem solve or create new art or conjure up a new story. Compose a dance or new song. Whatever you need to think about… let the making of paper flowers take you there!

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

You can use any paper you have around! Magazines, maps, junk mail, old letters, sheets of music, book pages, patterned paper… any paper that is on the thin side and nice and pliable. I learned the hard way that cardstock is too thick and news print is too thin. So, find some paper and experiment!

The best glue to use is Scotch Quick Dry Adhesive . It bonds paper to paper in less than a minute. So when you hold the glued flower pieces together you don’t sit til morning waiting for them to dry : )

My paper savey (and super paper saving) friend, Reyne, gifted me with a beautiful paper flower made from magazine paper that she had made. I was mesmerized and insisted she teach me how to make them right away! And she did! Thank you, Reyne, for my new obsession!!!

Here is a pattern for making them. I found it in the Make It Yourself Dec 2012 magazine by BH&G. There are tutorials on Pinterest too. See my Paper Crafts board for more.

Make It Yourself Magazing Dec 2012

Make It Yourself Magazine Dec 2012

Make It Yourself ~ Paper Flowers Pattern

Make It Yourself ~ Paper Flowers Pattern

For the stems, I take white pipe cleaner and cover it with sheer ribbon. I also distress the tips of the flowers with ink and add glitter glue for a little sunshine sparkle! For the flower stamens, you have to go to the cake decorating department at your local craft shop to find them! Wilton makes them. I don’t know how they are used in decorating cakes (cause they are not edible) but that’s where you’ll find them!

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

Paper Flowers ~ Rachel Fontenot

Aren’t they lovely! They just light up a room with sparkles and happiness!

So take a journey with the paper flowers and let your creative mind wonder… and remember, not all who wonder are lost! And when you are done, give them away and brighten someone’s day with a bouquet of handmade paper flowers made by no one more wonderful than YOU!

Sharing sunshine and love!

Rachel xoxo

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in My Artwork, Paper Creativity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paper Flowers

  1. They keep multiplying!

  2. delona says:

    Beautiful in deed !

Leave a Reply

