Say YES To Creativity

Life is busy! And it gets full of “I have to’s” and “I need to’s” and “they need’s” and “they want’s” that sometimes we get side tracked from our art. And then the “I feel pooped’s” kicks in!

That has been me for the past few months. I have been building my art business (which is a super positive thing!) BUT… I let it (and other life stuff) take over my schedule and derail me from my art making. I dropped my doodle a day exercise, my afternoon of painting/drawing and I even quit crocheting in the evenings! That is a huge derailment for me, cause I’m pretty scheduled and together. But I let all that left brain activity and life stuff take over and invade my art making time and I became too tired and overwhelmed for creativity. A boo hoo thing to happen.

So, how do I get back on track?

I rest. Rest is super important for the brain to function at it’s best!

I return to healthy eating habits (especially if I have been off the healthy wagon).

I take walks outside to be rejuvenated by the sunshine and green trees and blue skies : )

I revisit my dreams and goals (this always get’s me back on track and excited again)! If you’ve never written down your dreams and goals, I encourage you to do so now! It will help you get a clear vision of where you want to go and will help keep you on the creative track!

I read art related magazines, books and blogs.

I peruse Pinterest for inspiration and take in all the color and pattern.

I visit an art museum or gallery.

…and I pick up my sketchbook and pen and begin recording all the wonder around me! I play with my watercolors. I explore and let myself be free and the magic begins to happen as though it had never stopped.

Watercolor Sketch ~ © Rachel Fontenot 2013

Watercolor Sketch ~ © Rachel Fontenot 2013

 

But I think the key to conquering busyness is to never let it get in the way to begin with!

I have made a pact with myself to stick to my schedule of business building in the morning and art creating for the afternoon/evening! Cause that’s what works for me!

And I am a much happier and nicer person when I am making art daily : )

So, if life has taken over your creative time, and you’ve been derailed… just jump off that ol’ busyness train and take a walk in the colorful pastures of art once again. I promise it’s worth the jump!

Happies to you : )

Rachel xoxo

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Creative Encouragement, My Artwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Say YES To Creativity

  1. Peggy Mayfield says:

    I have a little notebook that I’ve kept since I was in college, with hints to jump start my creativity. I have certain pieces of music, flowers ( I’m very scent driven), artists – that can always be counted on to help me get back on track. Through the years I have added to this list – it now includes taking walks, particular parks/paths/seasons, food & drink (amazing what a specific cooky can do for you, or a type of tea or coffee), etc. Track what you’re doing when you’re in the groove – your energy level, your current inspirations, and when you get in that rut, because it WILL come, zap yourself with a tool you know will work!

Leave a Reply

