MATS Class Journey… Part 1 Over Confidence Pie

It has been a wonderful and yet crazy Summer (and I’m in shock that it’s over)! For the entire month of June and first part of July, I was dedicated to Make Art That Sells  (MATS)class Part A with Lilla Rogers. As soon as that class ended, I was also working on my entry piece for the Global Talent Search. And for the entire month of August, I was fried like an egg on a hot and steamy street in New Orleans! That’s why you haven’t heard a peep from me since June.

Now it’s September and I am revived and taking a new adventurous class, Daring Adventures In Paint with Mati Rose McDonough. It’s been absolutely wonderful! Tune in later for my posting on that journey.

First, let’s get back to the beginning of Summer… back to MATS class. There is much to say, so I will break it down into a few parts over a few postings. But oh what a ride MATS class was for me! Ups, downs and everything in between. I learned so much about art, the business of art, how other artists work and function and most of all, I learned a lot about myself. Good things and not so good things. Once class started I knew it would make me or break me. It did both. It broke me, then made me. In between it all I ended up eating a few slices of confidence art pie… find your art voice pie… humble art pie… Well, let’s just say I ate a pie or two or three! And now I’ll (with shaking hands and pounding heart) tell you how I was broken and made and what kinds of pie I ate!

Over Confidence Pie ~ I went into MATS Class with the attitude that I would be tops in class and that everyone would love my work and dote all over it with compliments and eye popping love. I was going to be the teacher’s pet. And I would be top of the world happy.

Well… That didn’t happen. Not even close.

So you wonder, “Why would she even think that way”? Well, I thought that way because that is how most (not all) of my past experience has been. I was tops in art classes. I won awards. I was many a teacher’s pet. And people did and do love my work. So what else would I think… why would this class be any different?

Well, somehow it was different. Very different. Good different.

This class had almost 500 students in it. The student level was from brand new beginner to seasoned “making a living” art professional. And I found myself smack in the middle of the two extremes. A place I had never really been before… And it was a good place to be. I mean, really humbling good! It kinda broke my overconfident “I’m tops” attitude. Why? Because this was the first time I was really, I mean REALLY, pushed to go beyond myself. To go beyond my current skill set. “To boldly go where no artist has been before.” Well, at least where I had never been before.

Not being at the top meant that I had a top to shoot for! I had a new level to reach. And that made me want to be the best. Not just assume (which we know what ASSuming does) that I was the best, ’cause maybe for once I was being shown that maybe I wasn’t “the best” and that I needed to GROW! I did NEED to grow. And I realized that there will always be another level to aspire to. Even those that we think are at the top still have a place they want to go that’s higher than where they are. We never stop growing! There will always be someone behind you and someone ahead of you. You just have to keep moving to the next level that’s ahead of YOU. And… be o.k. with whatever level you are at, knowing that you are in the process of growing.

Confidence is good. You need confidence to be successful. But sometimes over confidence can be harmful. It can keep you from growing. And growing was the main reason I took this class! And you know, sometimes we need a push out of our comfy little nest.  And I was quite cozy in my little “top of the tree” art nest. Lilla was giving me a little push out of my tree and helping to open my eyes to a bigger world. I could see other trees that were growing next to mine… and higher and bigger! Desire for growth began to grow in me. And growing was exactly what I was doing… but with a wee bit of growing pains too : )

Oooey… ouch!

Rachel Fontenot ~ Mod

Rachel Fontenot ~ Mod

To be continued…

Next Up… Value Pie.

Hugs!

Rachel xoxo

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Creative Encouragement, My Artwork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MATS Class Journey… Part 1 Over Confidence Pie

  1. Pingback: MATS Class Journey – Part 2 Value Pie | Rachel Fontenot

  2. It is as if I wrote this myself Rachel – I went through just the same. Roll on part 3 🙂

Leave a Reply

