MATS CLass Journey – Part 3 Finding Your Voice Pie

In my last post, we ate some good ol’ Value Pie. Today, we chow down on some Finding Your Voice Pie! Some of the best pie ever!  And the most important too!

Finding Your Voice Pie ~ Creating from your heart and place of happiness is what counts here. And you have to like what you create. You cannot create what you think others like or want or even mimic what you see in the marketplace. That’s being fake. AND you CANNOT copy another artist’s work or style… that’s just wrong! You have to create from within you.

In the beginning of MATS class I created from within. And when I didn’t get those “expected” responses (silly rabbit!), I began to second guess, doubt and change how I was creating my art. My work is different. So I stood out a little. Standing out can be very uncomfortable and feel risky. And it’s human nature to care what others think. We want to be liked. But we cannot let that rule what we think and feel and do.

So in the second and third week of class, I stressed out and created work that was not really me. Maybe a smidge of me, but not my big deep heart. Not what I fully enjoy. I was holding back and playing it safe. It was good work and people liked it, but I stressed out and the work did not flow well from my heart, voice or hand.

Rachel Fontenot ~ Flora Plates

Rachel Fontenot ~ Flora Plates

Thank God (I think it was He who snapped me out of it!), by week three I snapped out of the stressful funk and recognized what was happening. I was able step back, take a look at what was going on and chose to get back in tune with my voice and create art from my heart. I let go of stressing over “likes” and comments (those are great and nice, but they can’t rule) and I got focused on what makes me come alive and what I really enjoy making. And I created from that place. It felt good when I found my voice again. I let my opinion and value of the work be my guide.

Rachel Fontenot ~ Tea Collage

Rachel Fontenot ~ Tea Collage

If you wonder “How do I find my voice?”, a big way for you to find your voice is by creating as much art as you can. Just get into your studio and make stuff. Your voice will emerge. The more work you make, the more you can see. A path will be revealed to you. And when you see that path… take it! Just BE YOU! Be proud! And value yourself, your heart and your work.

I must say, that Lilla Rogers is one of the most encouraging and inspiring teachers I have studied under. She constantly reminded us to embrace where we were, yet to push ourselves just a little past that… and that there’s a place for everyone’s artwork in the marketplace… to not compare ourselves to other artists, but to be happy for their success and to be inspired by them, not jealous… that our work is not finite, we are always growing… and to be ourselves and create from our hearts, because “People Buy Your Joy”.

Part B of Make Art That Sells begins October 7. I am signed up and ready for it… Emotionally and artistically! My only expectations are to grow and learn. I will embrace wherever I fit in and whatever level I am at. I will create from my heart and with my own voice and put my best efforts into the work. I will learn and grow. And I will find value, first within myself (and God, the most amazing Artist of all) and hold others’ opinions lightly. It’s a process and journey to be enjoyed! No more broken eggs here!

So, as you put yourself out into the world and share your art and engage in learning by taking classes and joining groups (which I so hope you are doing!), remember to watch out for crazy expectations (they creep up and rob you of joy) and hold very lightly the opinions of others (because yours matters most!) and be your wonderful self and have fun and enjoy the experience : )

Happy Creating : ) Happy Learning : ) Happy Being YOU : )

Rachel xoxo

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Creative Encouragement, My Artwork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MATS CLass Journey – Part 3 Finding Your Voice Pie

  1. Reyne says:

    You are so inspiring to me especially when it comes to always learning more, more, more.

Leave a Reply

