Collage Fun For All – January Exchange

Last Fall I took 30 Days of Collage with Stephanie Levy… FABULOUS class! One of the students in the class started a collage exchange group. Of course I had to join in the collage fun! So for the first six months of this year, I will create two 5″x7″ collages and send them to two other artists in the group. In return I will receive two collages each month created by two artists in the group! It’s soooooo much fun!

Here are my two collages from January. Both were sent to artists in Canada!

Rachel Fontenot - Collage Circle 1

Rachel Fontenot – Collage Circle 1

Rachel Fontenot - Collage Circle 2

Rachel Fontenot – Collage Circle 2

I created the collages by beginning with a  Gelli Plate print. Then I gathered papers in the color palette I wanted to work in and began collaging the next layer (and some washi tape found it’s way onto these pieces too… I’m totally a washi addict). Once I am satisfied with the collaged paper layer, I then cut up solid card stock and create retro feeling, otherworldly shapes and designs that become my final layer on top of the collaged paper layer. What I end up with is a very colorful, fun and happy little world that I could spend hours swimming in!!!

Here are the two collages I received in January:

This one is from Pam Weitzel. Here’s what she said about it:

“On a cool Sunday, watching a football game in frigid Green Bay – all I could think was ‘Spring Flowers’! The photos are from the flowers in my garden – Hurry up Spring!”

Collage by Pam Weitzel

Collage by Pam Weitzel

I received this collage from Patty Kelley. Here are her words about it:

“I am drawn to warm colors and based this composition on the word’s ‘gold’ and ‘gossamer’ from a dictionary page.”

Collage by Patty Kelley

Collage by Patty Kelley

How bout you gather up some papers and create a collage and exchange it with a friend today!

Happy Collaging!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Collage/Mixed Media, My Artwork, Printmaking/Stamping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

