The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

This is my first time participating in The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap hosted by Do What You Love. There are over 350 artists from around the world participating. I am super excited because I got paired with Micala Duvoux, an English artist living in France, a country where I have some deep roots!! Oui, oui, ooh la la!

The theme this year is “create” and part of the challenge is to use some paper and of course there must be some stitching!

I chose to work with paper and thread only… no fabrics. I started with a Gelli Plate print that I printed using acrylic paint. Then I hand cut shapes and letters out of brightly colored card stock to add to the design. Next, I hand stitched the colored shapes onto the Gelli print (I used a wee bit of glue to hold the shapes in place first so they wouldn’t wander out of place during the hand stitching process). I then used glue to hold the word “create” in place. Finally, I used an acrylic paint pen to doodle and write all over the piece.

Postcard by Rachel Fontenot for The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

Postcard by Rachel Fontenot for The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

Here is the super fun collage I received from Micala. She said it was completely different than the work she normally creates but she enjoyed making it!  The postcard she created is fabric sewn onto paper. She screen printed stars and words and then stitched on top of them. I find it simply wonderful and I love the sentiment! It will happily hang in my studio!

Postcard by Micala Duvoux for The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

Postcard by Micala Duvoux for The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

You can find Micala Duvoux on her website and blog.

I am happy to have been a part of such wonderful project! I had a blast creating my collage! I hope to join in the swap again next year.

Création Heureux! (Happy Creating!… I’m teaching myself a wee bit o’ French!)

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Collage/Mixed Media, My Artwork, Printmaking/Stamping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

  1. Micala says:

    Hello Rachel,

    Thank you for the lovely write up. I’m really happy to be your partner in postcard stitching, it was a really fun project. I can’t wait to receive yours – it looks AMAZING! Bonne journée et à bientôt!

  2. Pingback: Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap | rose & lula

Leave a Reply

