The Sketchbook Project 2014 Tour… Next Stop… NOLA

The Sketchbook Project is currently traveling around the US and it’s stopping in New Orleans this year and my “I See Rainbows” collaged sketchbook is on board!

Here’s a delightfully fun video I created to give you a tour of my sketchbook. I filmed it using my tablet just hours before the book had to be postmarked in order to make it in time to be included on the tour. It’s my first video and I had no clue what I was doing! I gave the film footage to my multi-talented, super creative friend, John Strong, who worked some of his magic to bring it some happy life! Thank you, THANK YOU, John!!!

I hope this video makes you smile and see visions of rainbows dancing in your head : )

 

Here is a photo collage of all the pages as you look through the sketchbook. I created the sketchbook by taking the sketchbook apart and Gelli Plate printed each page with the color theme for that spread. I then collaged, doodled and/or painted with watercolors each Gelli print. For the covers, I punched shapes out of patterned paper using a hexagon punch. For the words on the front cover, I hand cut them out of paint chips from the local home improvement store (I can’t help but to collect paint chips every time I enter a home improvement store… all the pretty colors call to me… you know they call you too!)

 

I See Rainbows Sketchbook Project 2014 ~ Rachel Fontenot

I See Rainbows Sketchbook Project 2014 ~ Rachel Fontenot

So if your in the New Orleans area this Saturday, stop by the Crescent City Farmers Market and check out a sketchbook or two at the traveling library truck! And let me know if YOU have a sketchbook on board so I can “check” out your book on Saturday too : )

Saturday, April 5 / 8am – Noon

The Crescent City Farmers Market… Saturday Market ONLY

700 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA

Click here to see the rest of the tour dates. Maybe the library is coming to your town!

Hope to see you there!

Rachel

 

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Sketchbook Project 2014 Tour… Next Stop… NOLA

  1. reynebeatmann says:

    you are working your as* off.   Love all of it.

    >________________________________ > From: Rachel Fontenot >To: arthurbeatmann@bellsouth.net >Sent: Tuesday, April 1, 2014 1:54 PM >Subject: [New post] The Sketchbook Project 2014 Tour… Next Stop… NOLA > > > > WordPress.com >Rachel Fontenot posted: “The Sketchbook Project is currently traveling around the US and it’s stopping in New Orleans this year and my “I See Rainbows” collaged sketchbook is on board! Here’s a delightfully fun video I created to give you a tour of my sketchbook. I filmed it u” >

  2. Pingback: The Sketchbook Project… New Orleans!!! | Rachel Fontenot

  3. Hey Rachel! I love, love, LOVE this post, and especially the short video you created! I’m taking another BYW class, and I thought of you while doing homework now, so I dropped in to say hello, too. Take it easy, and keep up the awesome work! 🙂
    Trisha

Leave a Reply

