The Sketchbook Project… New Orleans!!!

To see the traveling Sketchbook Project in real life was fantastic!!! And it was so nice to visit my sketchbook, I See Rainbows, again since I sent it off just days after I finished it. I always like to spend a good bit of time with my art before I send it off into the world. I always feel sad when they leave home too soon. Know what I mean?

Anyhoo… We had so much fun visiting the traveling library in New Orleans. I am so impressed with the folks that run the show. It is organized and so easy to check out sketchbooks. You get your library card in window #1. Then you scan your card and check out sketchbooks in window #2. And pick up and return your books in the big middle window! It was wonderful and fun and I wish we would have gotten there earlier than we did cause we only had about 45 minutes and we could have looked at sketchbooks for many hours!

Here are a few pics from the event:

The Sketchbook Project - NOLA

The Sketchbook Project – NOLA

 

Here we are with hands full of sketchbooks! My hubby, me and my Mom!

The Sketchbook Project - NOLA

The Sketchbook Project – NOLA

The Sketchbook Project - NOLA

The Sketchbook Project – NOLA

 

I feel in love with this sketchbook by Melissa Fabina.

Sketchbook by Melissa Fabina - The Sketchbook Project - NOLA

Sketchbook by Melissa Fabina – The Sketchbook Project – NOLA

 

Here’s me with two sketchbooks created by my artist friend Marie-Dominique Rouleau:

Sketchbooks by Marie-Dominique Rouleau - The Sketchbook Project - NOLA

Sketchbooks by Marie-Dominique Rouleau – The Sketchbook Project – NOLA

The Sketchbook Project - NOLA

The Sketchbook Project – NOLA

 

The Sketchbook Project - NOLA

The Sketchbook Project – NOLA

 

Check out The Sketchbook Project’s pics from the event here.

I bought a sketchbook for the 2015 tour. I’m pondering ideas for it now! How about YOU get a sketchbook and join the show too!

Happy Art Making!

Rachel

 

 

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Book Arts, Collage/Mixed Media, My Artwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

