Art Is For Sharing…

Hello friends! I took a much needed, many months long break from blogging… To think and ponder a few things…

Well, “Hello…I’m back”!

RachelFontenot-FreeBird-2015

Now, I gotta tell ya the truth… I’ve actually had a love/hate relationship with being online. Part of me wants to be all social and share all that I do with the planet… And the other part of me just wants to be a left alone hermit, locked away in my studio so I cam make my stuff (you know, just throw some food and water at me from time to time). But I have come to the conclusion that we are meant to live in community. As hard as that can be sometimes, we need each other. I need you… You need me.

And when you think about the arts and creation, it’s meant to be shared. Art is actually unfinished until it is shared. Look at God… He created the earth and saw that it wasn’t quite complete so He then created us to share it with! We completed His creation! WOWZERS! That speaks volumes!

So all of us who create, whether it be art or music or words or thoughts or a life… we must share. We must put our works out there, into the world for those who need it. And, trust me, people need what you create. The world needs your art… your words…. your music…. your dance… your whatever it is you do!

I sometimes get plagued with the thought “Everything’s been done already, so why bother”… Well, I recently heard someone say “Everything has been done… but not by you, with your style and your take on it. The world needs your perspective on it.” O how true. O how awesome. Remember that.

This year I am continuing my doodle a day sketchbook (which I will share this year… to be honest, last year I was too unsure of sharing, hence the inconsistency). I’m actually doing two daily sketchbooks and writing a haiku a day (yes, I’m a poet too, I’ve been holding out). And each haiku is getting paired with one of my photos or a piece of art. All while building my portfolio for art licensing. (Yes, I may have lost my mind. It’s ok, I’ll find it later).

And this is one of the places I will share it all with you! Now you can also find me on Facebook and on Instagram.

Here’s a few daily doodles from both sketchbooks this year:

RachelFontenot-dood-010215

RachelFontenot-dood1-010115

RachelFontenot-dood1-010915

I wish you all a wondrous and  creative 2015 and I look forward to sharing my art and poems with you!

Happy Creating!

Rachel

 

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Creative Encouragement, Doodle A Day, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Art Is For Sharing…

  1. Reyne says:

    Glad you’re back blogging!

  2. Peggy says:

    Thank you for this Rachel! You are certainly here for a reason – and you are an inspiration to me, and I expect to many many others. This year I am ready – I have my notebook and I am doodling too. Time to crawl out from under mommyhood and corporate life and put all I’ve learned back into my art, and yeah, maybe share too. You make a good point about that, but I’m still in the ‘who-am-i-to-think-this-is-good-enough’ stage, so maybe baby steps there. So glad to have found you, so very glad.

    • Hi Peggy! You are so sweet and so very welcome! I am so happy to hear that you are doodling!!! I encourage you to try to doodle a little everyday. Even if you just doodle a simple flower, draw something to keep your creative heart happy 🙂 And when you are ready to share your art with the world, you let me know so I can follow along with ya! I’m glad we are connected! Thanks for your sweet words and for being here 🙂

  3. John Strong says:

    Enjoyed your post and doodles!!! Flying home now. I got you a Zotter for your special day!

    J ☺

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

