ART is for Community

Hello! So, as usual, I am still pondering art and it’s role on the planet. And so my new thought is, not only is art for sharing (like I talked about in my last post) it’s also for community. Unfortunately, I’m lacking a local artistic community. So, like many of us today, I find it on the inter-webs (like we are doing here!).

Now, I have to first tell you, that I’m an education junkie. I like to learn stuff. All kinds of stuff. Like a curious kid, I drive my hubby crazy with questions… How did they do that?… How does this work?… What does that mean?… I wonder if I could (fill in the blank with crazy ideas)?… You get the picture. So, I end up with a library of “How to” books, a studio full of “stuff” to make “stuff” and a long list of classes I have taken… offline and online classes.

This year I am taking two year-long classes: Year of the Spark with Carla Sonheim & Lynn Whipple and  Tamara LaPorte’s class Life Book 2015. Both of which have started. Both of which are WONDERFUL!

My best art bud, Lisa (who lives far away from me… boo hooey) and I have taken a few online art classes together which is so awesome, ’cause we get to virtually shorten the miles between us. We are in Life Book together this year. I also got my friend MaryAnn to join us too! So we are creating together (even though we are not “together”) and bonding over art. Bonding over what it means to us… How it changes us… Challenges us… Grows us. AND we are doing this with the many, MANY, other creative folks that are in the class.

Lisa and I got together last year and created our hands and hearts away for a entire week! It was so wonderful to create in person and feed off of each others energy and excitement!

rachel-lisa-art-01-2014

rachel-lisa-art-02-2014

Online classes in particular are so awesome bcause you are in class with people from all around the world! I mean, how cool is that! Instant pen pals! (young folk may not know what a pen pal is… In the 80’s and before, when you had a friend in a far away place, you would become “Pen Pals” and you would HAND write a letter with a PEN on a piece of PAPER and stamp and address it to them and “snail” mail it to them and await a reply… yes, it was FUN! You should try it sometime!) Since I have been taking online art classes, I have become friends with so many likeminded people from around the globe. I just LOVE it! You get new perspectives on life…. You see how others live… You learn about a new culture… You expand your world!

Here’s a piece of art I created in Life Book 2015:

Green Pastures by Rachel Fontenot

Green Pastures by Rachel Fontenot

We were to choose a word for the year and create a mixed media piece using our word. I chose the phrase “Green Pastures” as my word for this year. The phrase comes from Psalm 23 in the Bible, a scripture that is meaningful to me right now in my life. So this piece is dear to my heart.

So, how’s your art community? Do you have one? If not, maybe you wanna just pick a class, sign up, add your art and watch your art community grow!!! Bing! Done.

Happy art communing!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Collage/Mixed Media, Creative Encouragement, Inspiration, My Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

