Haiku for You

So in addition to creating art, I write poetry! I read poetry. I love poetry.

I have loved poetry since I was a kid. Though, I didn’t read much at all when I was a kid because reading was hard for me. I have dyslexia but we didn’t know that when I was young. I didn’t discover it until I was in my 20’s. I actually didn’t become a reader until I was 25. The first book I read was The Hobbit. It took me one year to read. And what a great first read it was! When I was in high school, Cliff Notes were my best friend! I never read a book cover to cover (I don’t even think I even read a Cliff Note cover to cover). It’s amazing I made through school at all! But two things were lasting for me, art and poetry.

I’m pretty sure it all started with Dr. Seuss when I was a child. I had tons of his books. My mom would read them with me. I think she had me in a Dr. Seuss club at one point where I got books monthly. I devoured them. I loved the art and sing song rhyme. It’s funny, ’cause I can see Seuss’s influence in my artwork from time to time.  And he definitely shows up in my silly poems.

When my hubby and I were dating he would give me poetry books. O how that made me crazy about him even more!

I started writing poetry when I became a reader at age 25. Makes sense… reading and writing seem to go together! So for the past 17 years I have been writing all kinds of poetry. I’ve been sharing it with my hubby (he has no choice but to read it!) and my friend John who happily reads it (so I think! ha ha). John is a writer and is currently writing his first YA novel and several picture books for kids. He has helped me over the years and has taught me a thing or two. We would also write silly stories and poems together which is always great fun! Remember… community and creating with others can spark a fire that you alone could never ignite!

Last year I discovered the poetry form of Haiku through a creativity workshop that I participated in that was put on by Do What You Love.  I have been addicted ever since! This year I have challenged myself to write one haiku a day. How am I doing so far? Great… But.. IT.. IS.. A.. CHALLENGE! Cause sometimes words just escape me!

I pair each haiku with a photo that I have taken or a piece of my art. Follow me on Instagram if you want to read the daily haiku’s. Or catch them here, for I will post a few of them on this blog from time to time. Here’s three to get you started! The poem is under each photo.

RachelFontenot-flower-docs-2014

RachelFontenot-poem-flowers

RachelFontenot-eggs-toast-2015

RachelFontenot-poem-eggs-toast-2015

RachelFontenot-bright-light-2014

RachelFontenot-poem-light-bright-2014

Haiku’s are short and tell a simple story and evoke an image or emotion. In traditional Japanese, they are three lines of 5, 7, 5 syllables. I like to challenge myself to stick to those rules, BUT don’t hold me to it, ’cause I will cheat from time to time for the sake of finding that perfect word for what I want to say. Lots of modern day poets don’t stick to the 5, 7, 5 rule but they hold to the tradition of three lines of short prose that tells a story or evokes an image.

I hope you enjoy my poems and pictures! And I challenge you to give haiku a try. Check out Write A Haiku for easy haiku writing!!! Post your haiku’s in the comments.

Happy writing!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

