Handwriting & Hand Lettering

Handwriting. Script. Print.

It’s being lost and my heart is sad… even more so as I use “tech” to “write” to you as I write! A very complicated love/hate relationship I am feeling with tech right now.

I recently learned that script is no longer taught in school… What??? Seriously? How will a kid be able to READ script if they cant WRITE script? My aunt who is a public school teacher was the one who informed me of this. She said it’s not even a subject anymore, that the teachers are not supposed to teach it (though a few rebel teachers teach it behind closed doors because they know it’s crucial for young minds and hands to learn). Who would have thought that a teacher would one day have to “sneak teach” handwriting. Really?

When I was in school, handwriting was a subject and you had homework in it and tests on it! Handwriting was a big deal. Girls were always in competition for the title of “best handwriting”. We doodled words and names and letters all the time. We handwrote notes to each other and “passed them in class”. I have a box full of meticulously folded notes from friends that are from elementary and high school. Every time we move house I find it and read some. What a treasure and joy to have! Maybe my box will end up in a museum one day!

This year I want to better my handwriting and lettering. Thankfully, hand lettering and script is popular in the world of art and illustration right now. This makes me so happy! Look around next time you’re out shopping, you’ll see good ol’ classic handwriting and lettering everywhere!

In Life Book 2015 we had a lettering lesson taught by Joanne Sharpe. Wonderful! Just wonderful! Her book The Art of Whimsical Lettering is great! She teaches you how to create all kids of different lettering styles based on your own handwriting! So every letter and word you doodle and draw is unique to you and looks like no one else’s.

Here is the piece is created. I chose a delightful quote by Paul Klee, one of my favorite artists. I drew it with a 08 Micron pen. I colored the background using Tombow Dual and Mars Graphic 3000 Duo brush pens. I treated them like watercolors to get the blended effect. I colored in the floral details and some of the letters with Gelly Roll Moonlight gel pens.

RachelFontenot-Paul-Klee-quote

National Handwriting Day was last week on Jan 23. In celebration of that, Sakura of America is having a handwriting contest on Instagram  this week! All you have to do is write out your favorite quote (preferably using their wonderful pens but not a requirement) and post it to Instagram using their hashtags by the end of today. I decided to enter! I wrote out my very one quote! I used Sakura’s 08 Micron pen to write the quote. I used this paper that had the picture frame already printed on it and Gelly Roll Moonlight gel pens t draw the border doodles. I used Mars Graphic 3000 Duo brush pens to color in detail on the letters. I am hoping to win and receive a set of Sakura Koi brush pens  (and all the other wonderful prizes)!

RachelFontenot-handwriting-pens

RachelFontenot-handwriting-closeup

So, don’t let the computers have all the fun… What will you” hand” write today?

Happy handwriting!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Doodle A Day, Lettering, My Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Handwriting & Hand Lettering

  1. Reyne says:

    I hand write lists…grocery lists, honey-do lists, errand lists, birthday lists. You get the idea. I also am a believer in hand writing journal boxes on my scrapbook pages. I don’t always do it but I think it is an important part of a scrapbook. I treasure the most the hand written recipes from my mother and the hand written letters from my husband when we were dating in college.

  2. Jenny, a librarian says:

    I hand write just about everything. I keep a daily journal and that routine has been going on 10 years strong. At the beginning of it, my pages were illegible, but I like to think I improved. 😉

    Fantastic post and I loved how detailed you were with pen brands and types. I’m a bit of a pen and paper addict myself.

    Much (paper) love,
    Jenny, a librarian.

Leave a Reply

