The Daily Sketch Journal

I’ve been busy… doodling!!!

Have I mentioned how much I like this particular sketch book? The Daily Sketch Journal. ‘Cause I do. I really, really do. I like the way the pages are divided. And it’s a manageable size for a daily doodle. Plus it’s fun to see four days of unrelated doodles together in one spread. The paper is good too, it will only bleed through if I am too aggressive with the inks and pens.

Here are a few days of daily doodles…

RachelFontenot-skjo-01-03-15

Top left: colored pencil and marker. Bottom left: brush pen and colored pencil. Top right: Sketch for the beacon of light piece I did… Micron pen, gold pen, marker. Bottom right: marker and trying out my new Le Pen pens.

RachelFontenot-skjo-01-07-15

Top left: bronze pen and gel pens. Bottom left: Kandinsky inspired doodle with brush pens. Top right: brush pen. Bottom right: This doodle was inspired by a photo my friend John took of a cathedral ceiling… Micron pen and brush pens.

RachelFontenot-skjo-01-11-15

Top left: One liner doodle from Year of the Spark class… multi colored pencil and brush pen. Bottom left: Feelin’ floral… Micron pen. Top right: Go to Geo!… Micro, pen and marker. Bottom right: Klee inspired floral in marker.

RachelFontenot-skjo-01-15-15

Top left: Needed to test some old brush pens to see which ones still worked. Sometimes these turn out to be really neat. Bottom left: Trying out some new Neon brush pens and a Micron pen. Top right: Still playing with the new Neon brush pens. Bottom right: brush pens and markers… going to turn this one into a surface pattern collection.

This is such a cool sketchbook! I should stock up on them so that I have a few on hand for the next few years… you know, just in case they stop making them! Hoarder, you say, yes! Of many things. Sketchbooks being on the long list of hoarded artsy items 🙂

What have you doodled lately (or hoarded!)???

Happy sketching!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Doodle A Day, My Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Daily Sketch Journal

  1. Very pretty. The four item/page spread is awesome.

Leave a Reply

