Day 1 of the 5 Day Art Challenge

My friend Shannon Newlin challenged me to the 5 Day Art Challenge on Facebook. All one must do is post their art for 5 days in a row on Facebook and each day nominate a friend to do the same. Fun! So, of course, I accepted the challenge!

When Shannon posted her work, she ended up creating a timeline of her artistic life. It was really cool to see a drawing from when she was 12 and then one from her high school days up ’til the present. So, I decided to follow suit and do the same.

One of the things I love when studying an artists life is to see where they began. It’s amazing how an artist changes over their life yet they so often seem to carry that early work along with them. You can always see that early influence there in the background, because every work of art we create informs the next work. So, we are forever growing and morphing off of the previous work.

I wish I had work from my childhood, but I don’t. I’ll have to ask my mom if she has any stashed away somewhere. That would be cool, ’cause I drew all the time when I was a kid.

I do have loads of work from high school. I went to a small private school from K-9. They did not have an art program and I knew art was the thing for me, so my mom pulled me out of the private school and sent me to public school from 10-12. Definitely a culture shock for me but also one of the best things my mom could have done! The public school had an amazing art program. I took classical/general art for three years and also took drafting and art history. My art teachers were amazing and I am so thankful for them for directing me on the path to art. A huge THANK YOU to Ms. Lewis and  Mrs. Budge, you both changed my life!

So to begin this 5 Day Art Challenge, time travel with me back to 1989-1991 and let’s see my artistic beginnings.

The following three pieces definitely still influence my work today. Geometrics!

RachelFontenot-gkhs-geo-01

RachelFontenot-gkhs-geo-02-dm

RachelFontenot-gkhs-geo-03-dm

As a teen I was very much into fashion and considered going into fashion design. So in high school I created a lot of fashion related art. But my love for abstract art was greater, so fine arts won! Believe it or not, I was into contemporary art when I was young. In fifth grade I wrote a report on abstract expressionism! I actually still have it! Here are a few fashion pieces I created.

RachelFontenot-gkhs-drawing-05-dmRachelFontenot-gkhs-drawing-04-dm

RachelFontenot-gkhs-drawing-03-dm

I only ever wanted to create fashion and abstract pieces and fought my teachers on every still life or representational assignment. I forever begged to abstract them all, but never won those battles. So here are my two favorite representational pieces.

RachelFontenot-gkhs-drawing-06-dm

RachelFontenot-gkhs-drawing-07-dm

I am so grateful to my mom and dad for supporting me and my love of art when I was young. Because today, I cannot imagine doing anything else.

What was your school experience like? Did you follow your heart and dreams? Are you doing what you love? If you are, I celebrate with you! If you are not, it’s never too late and I cheer you on to take a step in the direction of your dreams today!

Next stop on the 5 Day Art Challenge… Classical Art Academy.

Happy walks down memory lane!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Creative Encouragement, Inspiration, My Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 1 of the 5 Day Art Challenge

  1. casandralee says:

    love the dot/pixel pieces you created

Leave a Reply

