Day 5 of the 5 Day Art Challenge

Art Challenge day 5…”these days”…. a.k.a. – what I’m working on these days.

I’m into many art things these days. I like many mediums and tend to work back and forth between them. I love to draw and doodle with all manner of pens and pencils. I paint with gouache, watercolor and acrylics. I absolutely LOVE to collage. I like to sew paper together to create paper collages. I make handmade books and journals.  I do Gelli Plate printing. I carve my own stamps for printing. And I have a few art journals that are like self portraits of me and my life. I write poetry. Take artsy-fartsy photos. I crochet and knit and cross stitch and sew and scrapbook and make handmade cards. Whew, I’m tired already.

Creating art and surface pattern design is my day job. I do my handiwork, like crochet and cross stitch, in the evenings. I scrapbook and make cards on some weekends with a crafty club I’m in. Add in laundry, house cleaning, cooking 3 meals a day, exercise, family and friends, church, travel, biz stuff and social media and it all turns into a big pot of gumbo! And most days it’s all jumbled together chaotically like jambalaya and it’s all good!

I think most peoples lives look like gumbo. But especially the lives (and minds!) of creatives.

Does it ever get overwhelming… big YES! But I love what I do so I just keep doing it all! I do take breaks from things from time to time. I find it’s always good to step back now and then. That’s how we get refreshed to continue on… how we get new ideas and renewed inspiration. Sometimes I wish all I did was one thing and that’s it. But that ain’t me!  Though, I so admire people who can focus on one or two things. “Cause they are the ones that seem to really master their craft. I’m not sure I’ve really mastered anything yet… hmmm, I’ll give that some thought, ’cause it’d be nice to master something!

In the mean time, here’s some current artwork…

Here is a fun drawing that I did on a watercolored background with brush pen and gel pens.

Rachel Fontenot - drawing - ink - pen - brush pen - Gelly Roll - drawing - art

This one is ink, watercolor and colored pencil. It’s from my Happie Place Series.

Rachel Fontenot - Happie Place Series - #0106 - ink - color pencil - watercolor - drawing - art

This is from my Limbo Series. It’s pen and colored pencil.

Rachel Fontenot - happie zippie - ink - color pencil - drawing - art

Here’s a fun watercolor where I drew the shapes with liquid mask, then painted and peeled the liquid mask away to reveal the design.

Rachel Fontneot - watercolor - doodle - pattern

Here’s two of my paper cut out collages with a bit of drawing and doodling.

Rachel Fontenot - MOD - collage - mixed media - drawing - paper - ink - acrylic paint  - art

Rachel Fontenot - Mod Play - collage - mixed media - paper cut out - acrylic paint - ink - drawing - art

This is my Squared Series. I started this series about 15+ years ago and I still love it! I use and doodle my squares all the time. They pop up in all kinds of my work.

Rachel Fontenot - Squared Series Quatro - gouache - painting - art

Here are two very recent collages. So new to me, that I am still processing them for myself! I like them and they were fun to create so I will continue to make them!

Rachel Fontenot - Collage - paper - pen - ink - drawing - art

Rachel Fontenot - Collage - paper - watercolor - ink - drawing - art

The 5 Day Art Challenge is over for me! Has anyone challenged you ? No? Well, consider yourself challenged! And tag me when you post your work so I can enjoy all your artsy goodness!

Happy Art Challenge!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Collage/Mixed Media, Creative Encouragement, My Artwork, Painting, Surface Pattern Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 5 of the 5 Day Art Challenge

  1. hguillermet says:

    Enjoy your Art, Rachel!!!

  2. brad young's art says:

    very cool!

Leave a Reply

