Drawing in God’s Art Museum

I went camping with my hubby this past weekend. He finally decided, after 21 years of me begging to go camping, that we could finally go. Yippee doodles!!!

I grew up camping with my family. We went every year. We were an outdoorsy threesome! We went to the beach, camping, fishing/crabbing, canoeing/tubing, picnics at the lakefront and I was forever playing outside. I remember my mom yelling my name out when it was dinner time or sunset and I’d come running home from whatever adventure I was on. I’m pretty sure this is where my love of nature began!

About 15 years ago, I bought a very nice tent with the hopes that it would win my hubby over to camping. Well, we just used that tent for the very first time this past weekend! We went to Bogue Chitto State Park in Louisiana. Absolutely beautiful! It was a wee bit cold and we froze all night but it was still wonderful and I’d do it all again tomorrow… my hubby will do it all again when it’s a wee bit warmer!!! The good news is, he loved it and was won over to camping. Though, he said he’d rather a camper with a few of “the comforts of home” over a tent. Maybe in the future we’ll upgrade to a camper. Until then, we tent it out!

One of the things I love about being outdoors is being close to God’s creation. I love His art! It’s the thing that inspires me the most. I could just sit outside and listen and look for hours upon hours. I like to collect His art and draw it and take it home with me to admire over and over. I love to photograph it. I probably have thousands of photos of landscapes and flowers and bits of nature.

Here is a doodle and some photos from this weekend’s camping adventure:

RachelFontenot-nature-drawing-dm RachelFontenot-winter-tree-15-dm

RachelFontenot-tree-bark-15-dm RachelFontenot-yellow-flowers-15-dm

Here are a few sketches from my daily and travel sketchbooks:

RachelFontenot-nature-drawing-01-dm  RachelFontenot-nature-drawing-03

RachelFontenot-travel-drawings-09-dm         RachelFontenot-nature-drawing-03-dm

The following are sketches inspired buy a photo I saw on Instagram taken by Loraine Callow. Loraine and I found each other on Instagram and share a love of nature, art, photography, poetry, collecting found treasures and all things handmade. She lives on the other side of the planet from me in Australia. Lorraine is an incredible artist and I love her nature drawings, photography and pattern design. You MUST visit her blog here!

She posted some photos of the Banksia Tree seed pods and when I saw them, I fell in love! I am mesmerized by them. They are so otherworldly to me. I drew a few doodles inspired by them. I look forward to drawing more!

LoraineCallow-banksia-seed-LC-dm  WEB72-banksia-seed-dm

RachelFontenot-nature-drawing-04  LoraineCallow-banksia-seed-LC-02-dm

We live in an amazing world! Both God-made and man-made! If it weren’t for the internet I would not have met Loraine and been exposed to the beauty of her art and country. Nor would I have connected with all of you wonderful people from all around this glorious world that seems to be growing and getting smaller by the minute!

When is the last time you sat and admired God’s handiwork? The last time you slowed down, unplugged and let your mind and body be bathed in the wonder of creation?

Don’t wait another minute… get outside and enjoy God’s Art Museum!

Happy, happy nature admiring!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Art Museums, Drawing, My Artwork, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drawing in God’s Art Museum

  1. Reyne says:

    I love camping too. I’d love some of your scketches made into stamps because they are just my style.

  2. Loraine says:

    Dear Rachel, thank you so much for your kindness – it’s very lovely to find a kindred spirit. I enjoy your blog very much – both your writing and your art so it’s a great pleasure to find myself here amidst all the lovely work you make! I’m delighted you fell for those banksias! Thanks again. Loraine

Leave a Reply

