Gelli® Plate Printing… I can’t seem to stop!

I’ve been Gelli® (used with permission from Gelli Arts® LLC) plate printing like crazy lately… I can’t seem to stop! It’s so much fun and very addictive. The possibilities are endless and once you begin, you lose track of time and space and all that seems to exists is paint and paper and stencils and brayers and a Gelli® plate! And when you do snap back from Gelli® Land you are surrounded by colorful papers everywhere! Oh the joy!!!

Printing on a Gelli® plate is basically monoprinting, except that you can get more than one print from a single plate of paint… and you can make “ghost” prints. With all that said, you still get one original print each time, hence the term, monoprint!

Here’s my studio floor covered in prints!

Rachel Fontenot - Gelli Plate Prints - acrylic - paint - printmaking

Here are some process photos:

Rachel Fontenot - Gelli Plate Printing - acrylic - paint - printmaking

Rachel Fontenot - Gelli Plate Printing - acrylic - paint - printmaking

Rachel Fontenot - Gelli Plate Printing - acrylic - paint - printmaking

Rachel Fontenot - Gelli Plate Printing - acrylic - paint - printmaking

Rachel Fontenot - Gelli Plate Printing - acrylic - paint - printmaking

Here’s a whole lot of prints I made. Some are finished… some will get printed on some more… some will get collaged!

Rachel Fontenot - Gelli Plate Prints- acrylic - paint - printmaking

Rachel Fontenot - Gelli Plate Prints- acrylic - paint - printmaking

Rachel Fontenot - Gelli Plate Prints - acrylic - paint - printmaking

You end up making so many prints! I love monoprinting with the Gelli® plate. Have you ever tried it? If not, you just gotta!!!

For all you NOLA locals, I’ll be teaching a Gelli® plate printing class at Mo’s Art Supply in Covington on May 9… more details to come!

Happy printing!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in My Artwork, Printmaking/Stamping and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gelli® Plate Printing… I can’t seem to stop!

  1. Reyne says:

    No wonder you can’t stop. They are just gorgeous. Not much paint is wasted either or is it called gelli.

  2. I’m turning into a Gelli addict myself!

  3. bubbieone says:

    I love your prints….but question. I have done some small printing on fabric, but would like to know more about printing on fabric. Seems to be tons about gelli prints on paper. Any ideas on making yardage?

    • Hi bubbieone!
      I have never used fabric when monoprinting on a gelli plate. I have only made yardage by stamping patterns with hand carved stamps. But I know that it’s possible to make yardage with a gelli plate! Give it a try and see what happens! Play and experiment with it and let me know how ya do with it!
      Happy creating and play!
      Rachel

  4. M Mancuso says:

    Your prints are so wonderful. They are unique and interesting.

Leave a Reply

