Pattern Play

I’ve been playing with simple patterns using a new set of watercolors and some water based markers (the kind kid’s use!). It’s so good to just “play”. To just doodle around with art supplies and see what happens.

When I do this, I really like “playing” with inexpensive art supplies. I find that when I doodle around with the less expensive supplies (like art supplies for kids) there are no strings attached. Meaning, I can be free… mess up… use a ton of the cerulean blue (my favorite color) without that voice reminding me, “that color cost $20 for a 0.47 fl. oz. tube”… I can use all of something without the price tag telling me that, “it’s precious, don’t use it all up.” Using cheaper supplies takes the pressure off of the creative “play” process. It takes the “seriousness” out of the picture and allows you to play with abandon like you did when you were a young one! It makes sense, right?

So, I have a stash of inexpensive paints, markers, paper, colors etc. that I keep at hands reach so that I can play anytime I want to without pressure and the inner critic.

And play always leads us onto new art paths and creative roads to journey!

Here’s some results from my most recent studio playtime:

Rachel Fontenot - pattern play process - watercolor - art

Rachel Fontenot - pattern - watercolor - mixed media - art

Rachel Fontenot - pattern - watercolor - mixed media - art

The top right and bottom right pieces were created by drawing with wax crayons and then painting watercolor over the entire design. All the rest were drawn with water based markers (the kid’s kind!) and then I painted over the design with clear water. The water smears the marker giving the design a blurred, fuzzy look. It’s fun… ya gotta try it!

Rachel Fontenot - pattern - watercolor -  crayon - marker - art

Rachel Fontenot - pattern - watercolor -  crayon - marker - art

Rachel Fontenot - Watercolors - Palette

Here are the new watercolors I picked up at my local Hobby Lobby. It’s the Master’s Touch brand which I think is the store brand. Some of the colors are neon-ish! I really enjoy painting with those! A few of the colors are super close to being the same. But they give you enough colors to play with that it doesn’t really matter! And the trays are stackable! How convenient is that!

When’s the last time you allowed yourself to play? Get yourself a new box of kid’s markers, crayons, watercolors and a pad of watercolor paper and let your inner young one loose!

Who knows where you’ll end up going!

Happy playing!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Collage/Mixed Media, Drawing, My Artwork, Painting, Surface Pattern Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pattern Play

  1. Thanks so much for this post! I’m a beginner so the key for me is play, play, play. Love these ideas.

  2. Doodle Travel Love says:

    Reblogged this on doodletravellove and commented:
    Great to see artists play, the best part of the creative process.

  3. Doodle Travel Love says:

    Great post I found it after having similar thoughts myself about creative play. Lovely colors and patterns.

Leave a Reply

