Mod Paper Collage

I’m taking 30 Days of Collage with Stephanie Levy. This is my third time taking this class! I really like the collage prompts and the push to do them within 30 days. Though, this time around, I’m not doing a very good job of keeping up… Today is day 17 and I’ve only done one collage so far! Boo. Hoo.  It’s ok. I’m not beating myself up over it. This is the first week I’ve had free time to devote to collage. So, this week, I’m taking the class prompts and going with my collage whim and creating in the order that I wish!

Yesterday, I created a black and white collage. Always a challenge for me ’cause I work with bold color and pattern all the time.

Rachel Fontenot - Paper Collage Process

I find it interesting that lately I’ve been attracted to grey tones.  I’ve been doodling and drawing with greys. It’s weird! Maybe all the rainy days we’ve had this month have rubbed off on my conscience. So, I decided to use grey tones in the black and white collage. I like how it turned out!

Rachel Fontenot - B&W&G Collage - paper, collage, mixed media, art, black & white

After cutting out the grey shapes for the black and white piece, I noticed the negative space in the sheet of grey paper was quite nice.  I decided to play around with the left over pieces of grey paper to create another collage. But this time, I had to add some color!!!

Rachel Fontneot - Paper Collage Process

I keep a pile of painted papers on hand for use in collage or drawing or whatever fancies me. I chose a paper that I had painted with bright warm colors. I used the left over grey shapes and created some new ones for this collage. I really like the warm and cool colors together. And the pop of lime is just yummy!

Rachel Fontenot - Warm Grey Collage - paper, collage, mixed media, art, paper cut out

The piece is too big for my scanner so I scanned it in two sections and I like how each section turned out to be a nice composition all on it’s own!

Rachel Fontenot - Warm Grey Collage 01 - paper, collage, mixed media, art, paper cut out

Rachel Fontenot - Warm Grey Collage 02 - paper, collage, mixed media, art, paper cut out

I really enjoy creating paper collages. I could sit and cut out paper shapes all day long. If Henri Matisse were alive today, I think we’d be BFF’s!

Collage something today… begin with just black and white and see where it takes you!

Happy collaging!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Collage/Mixed Media, Learn Art, My Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mod Paper Collage

  1. Love the shapes you created, they look organic yet industrial at the same time. For example, the one that resembles a seedpod also could be some electronic circuit part. Keep on collaging, Matisse would be proud of you. 🙂

    • Thank you, AlyZen Moonshadow (awesome name!)!!! I really love how you see the collages! Thanks for the encouragement!
      ~Rachel

      • Thanks, Rachel. The name AlyZen is actually a portmanteau of my initials A L, the y is Spanish for “and” for the 4 years we lived in Spain, and Zen is part of my son’s Chinese name. Moonshadow came from SecondLife when I had to choose a surname. Have a great weekend, and keep up the good work with your lovely collages.

  2. Sounds like an awesome challenge, but I totally understand the time factor.

  3. I have been debating taking Stefanie’s class. I love seeing what you’Ve done.

Leave a Reply

