She Hordes Sea Shells from the Sea Shore

Sanibel Island, Florida Part 1…

I found my new favorite place on planet Earth… Sanibel Island, Florida.

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Island Florida

My hubby and I have been talking and dreaming of taking a trip to Sanibel for 15+ years. We finally made it there! It’s a tiny island off the coast of southern Florida in the Gulf of Mexico. It’s known for it’s abundance of sea shells. In fact, people from all over the world visit the island for the sole purpose of collecting sea shells. And that’s exactly why we went… to collect sea shells! Or as my hubby likes to say, “She’s hording sea shells”!!!

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Island Florida

I cannot lie… I’m a collector. A collector of many things. But nature is one of my favorite things to collect! I collect rocks, sticks, leaves, pods, nut shells, bark, sand, burned wood (which is natural charcoal, great for drawing!), sea weed and yes, little houses that have been vacated by sea creatures… SEA SHELLS!!! I doodle them, keep them in jars & bowls and I use them in art.

Sanibel Island was a treasure trove of collectables!

We arrived in the evening just before sunset. We went straight to the beach to see what it was like and I nearly lost my mind! Sea shells were EVERYWHERE!!! I didn’t have anything with me to put shells in except for my pockets! Which is why I’m a big fan of cargo shorts and pants (I wear them all the time so I always have a place to store found treasures)! And I stuffed my pockets with as many shells as I could!

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Island Florida

And just outside our room was a station to wash all of your collected shells. Brilliant, is the person who thought to build that outdoor sea shell washing sink!!!

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Island Florida

This is what the beach looks like. It’s crushed shells mixed with the sand. And there are whole shells peppered all over the place. You never know what you will find!

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Island Florida

Rachel Fontenot - Sanilbel Island Florida

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Island Florida

The beach is definitely my favorite place to be. Growing up in New Orleans on the Gulf Coast, we went to the beach every summer when I was a kid. I think the sun, sand and sea seeped into my soul and became a part of me. It’s a calming and peaceful place where you can let go, relax, slow down and listen.

Here we are… We’ve been married for 22 years! Don is my best fellow adventurer!

Rachel Fontenot - Don & Rachel - Sanibel Island Florida

This is the end of Sanibel Island part one… Part two promises sea treasures galore!!!

Happy Summer!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She Hordes Sea Shells from the Sea Shore

  1. Kathleen Abley says:

    I absolutely loved reading your post from Sanibel Island…my heart almost jumped out of my chest with delight.
    I loved art so much as a child and have discovered it again like a lost treasure as I have got older. Thank you for an amazing read with my coffee this beautiful holiday Monday here in Canada. I will find more to read and I will follow you x. Kathleen

Leave a Reply

