Treasures from the Sea Shore

As promised… Sanibel Island, Florida Part 2… Treasures galore!!!

Everyday I went to the beach and collected shells, sticks, rocks and sea shell egg cases! And everyday I laid them out and photographed them. I also doodled some of them too (that will be in part 3’s post)! And just walking the grounds of the Waterside Inn where we stayed was a beautiful adventure!

Sea Treasures Day 1: Lightning whelk shell egg case, tulip shell egg cases, dead coral, stiff pen shell and pod.

Rachel Fontenot - Sea Treasures Day 1

Sea Treasures Day 2: Sticks, palm tree wood, nut shell, pod, charcoal, sea glass and shells.

Rachel Fontenot - Sea Treasures Day 2

Rachel Fontenot - Sea Treasures Day 2

Sea Treasures Day 3: Pod and a tree from the sea! Also, fiber from palm trees… I imagine that early peoples were inspired by this tree fiber to make fabric, it is warp and weft at it’s finest!

Rachel Fontenot - Sea Treasures Day 3

Sea Treasures Day 4: Broken stiff pen shells (they make the most beautiful shapes when they are broken), dead coral, pods, Atlantic kittenpaw shells, rough scallop shells,  Atlantic giant cockle, broken sand dollar and barnacles.

Rachel Fontenot - Sea treasures Day 4

Sea Treasures Day 5: Palm tree wood and bark, pods and we don’t know what the yellow and green things are!

Rachel Fontenot - Sea Treasures Day 5

Here’s some of the beautiful nature that we found on Sanibel Island.

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Nature

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Nature

It was so fun to sort through my sea treasures every evening and photograph them.

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Shells

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Shells

Even the shadows are lovely here!

Rachel Fontenot - Sanibel Nature

Is there such a thing as professional sea shell collector? Cause that’s what I want to be when I grow up!

Happy end of Summer!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Treasures from the Sea Shore

  1. Reyne says:

    Day 1 I see a heart. Day 3 tree is my favorite.

  2. Dianne Gibson says:

    Love all your sea treasurers! I know it took you hours/days to collect but know you enjoyed every minute.

Leave a Reply

