Sea Doodles

Sanibel Island, Florida… Part 3

The beach, a sketchbook and pen in hand… bliss!

These are some of the doodles I did in-between sea shell collecting on Sanibel Island. This first one was done with some natural charcoal I found on the beach. Natural charcoal is just charred wood from a fire! There is something magical about drawing with something that you find in nature… One of God’s art supplies!

Rachel Fontenot - natural charcoal sketch - Sanibel Island FL

I had to doodle shells from my first hunt! I drew them with a sepia Micron. I really like simple line drawings. They make me happy and remind me that things don’t have to be so complicated.

Rachel Fontenot - Sea Shell Sketch - Sanibel Island FL

Of course I had to create a pattern in blues and greens…!!!

Rachel Fontenot - Sea Doodle - Sanibel Island FL

This is a sketch of some of the flora I found on the island. Such lovely, simple shapes!

Rachel Fontenot - Sea Sketches - Sanibel Island FL

I keep asking my hubby if we can uproot and move to Sanibel Island. I tell him I can be a professional sea shell collector… He just rolls his eyes and laughs! One day… maybe.

Happy Summer!

Rachel

About Rachel Fontenot

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Drawing, My Artwork, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sea Doodles

  1. Dianne Lambert says:

    Thanks Rachel for sending me your wonderful results of your summer on Sanible Island. I love your way of discovering beauty and art in things that would be overlooked by most people. You are a wonderful young woman with an inquiring and interesting nature and the ability to dig out the beauty and display it for others to see as well. I am happy to see your work and appreciate what you are about. Keep up the good work. Dianne Lambert.

  2. Dianne Gibson says:

    Love seeing your beach work! Yes.. move to the beach. That’s where you belong! I hope to retire somewhere by the gulf myself… one day. Mom

Leave a Reply

