Happy Fall Y’all

Happy Fall y’all! That’s a cute little saying that’s popular in the South these days. The other day, I heard my 73 year old Auntie say it in her lovely Southern accent and it was so cute and sweet that I decided to adopt that phrase too (but I don’t have that lovely Southern accent… I just sound like a regular ol city girl)!

And guess what… Fall finally come to us here in the Deep South! So I wrote a haiku to celebrate:

Chilly wind blows
Golden treasures upon us
Fall has fallen South.

Fall and Winter are my favorite seasons. These seasons have so much to offer. Crisp air, rustling leaves, crunchy things under foot, beautiful earth tones, the bare bones of trees, gray pale skies, stillness, quiet, reflection… peace. I love all the seasons but Fall and Winter are my favorites these days. I enjoy hibernating and sipping hot drinks and knitting warm things during the long cold nights. And I really enjoy taking walks in these seasons… even when it’s super cold. My hubby not so much. I gotta drag him outside for a walk when it’s cold. And he usually looks like he’s 100lbs heavier than he is because of all the layers of clothes he’s piled on. He cracks me up! But our daily walks to together, is truly one of my favorite things to do.

Here’s some treasures I picked up on our most recent “Fall” walks. It’s so exciting to find these colors in South Louisiana. Cause we usually go from green to brown overnight!

photo-nov-19-9-03-34-am

So what about you? Which is your favorite season? What do you like about that season?

Well, I’m off to enjoy this chilly day!

I wish y’all a Happy and Blessed Thanksgiving! I am thankful for you, my fellow creatives!

Rachel xo

 

 

 

About Rachel Fontenot Crawford

Hi y'all! I'm Rachel Fontenot Crawford, an artist, poet and surface designer who is passionate about color and pattern, poetry, the great outdoors and art history. I also love to crochet and knit, scrapbook and make handmade cards. All of which you will find on this blog! My artwork and patterns are happy, peaceful and full of color as are all the things my happy hands find to create. I'm a native of the colorful and eclectic city of New Orleans where I currently live with my wonderful hubby of 20+ years marriage. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

